Energiewende meets Industrie 4.0

DC-INDUSTRIE overview

The German Federal government supports companies and research institutions in developing innovative technologies that support reaching the international climate targets. Specifically, the Energy Research Programmes of the Federal Ministry for Economic Affairs and Energy, focus on the large industrial and manufacturing base in Germany. Since October 2019, 39 partners - 33 of which are companies and 6 research institutes - have been working on seamless, efficient integration of renewable energy (e.g. solar panels on factory roofs) and storage devices for balancing power supply and demand in factories. The focus of DC-INDUSTRIE2 is the direct current supply of an entire production hall, after the direct current supply of a production cell had already been realized in DC-INDUSTRIE since 2016. The DC infrastructure will be realized and rigorously tested in nine model plants and transfer centres at various partners. They range in power levels up to approximately 2 MW.
The predecessor project DC-INDUSTRIE (2016 – 2019, with 27 partners) laid the groundwork for the power supply of industrial plants via a smart, open DC grid. The partners collaborated to implement the energy transition in industrial production achieving up to 80% reduction of feed-in power and a total recovery of braking energy in four model applications at the industrial partners.


In short, DC-INDUSTRIE provides: 
1.    An open system
2.    Efficient integration of renewable energy
3.    Lower energy consumption
4.    Reduced feed-in power
5.    Increased system availability


Please read more in our white paper and our project presentation

DC-INDUSTRIE at Hannover Fair 2021

Direct current plays a key role in the future industrial power supply. With direct current, more energy efficiency and energy flexibility can be realised in industrial production. In the DC-INDUSTRIE2 direct current project and its predecessor project DC-INDUSTRIE, more than 40 partners from industry and research have been working since 2016 to implement the energy transition in industrial production. This is how the industrial energy system of the future, a DC-based smart grid for industry, is being created. (German only)

Read more

SPS Connect 2020 | On the way to the DC factory

In the lecture, the manufacturer-independent industrial direct current network (DC network) of DC-Industry will be presented as a solution for the upcoming challenges of industrial energy supply. With DC-Industry, a consortium of well-known electrical engineering manufacturers and users from the automotive and mechanical engineering sectors wants to prepare the way for the DC factory, in which all energy is exchanged via a DC grid. In this way, industrial production can be made more energy-efficient and flexible across all sectors through direct current. (German only)

Read more

Video: DC-INDUSTRIE at the Hannover Fair 2020

Direct current plays a key role in the future industrial power supply. Direct current (DC) can be used to achieve greater energy efficiency and energy flexibility in industrial production. In the DC-INDUSTRIE2 direct current research project and the predecessor project DC-Industry, research has been conducted since 2016 with companies from industry and research institutes on the direct current supply of a production cell or production hall (German only).

Read more

Video: Energiewende meets Industrie 4.0

ZVEI is developing grid management options for the future with its partners in the DC-INDUSTRIE project. The motto: Energiewende meets Industrie 4.0. Direct current plays a key role in the future industrial power supply. So will renewable energies, energy storage and a two-way power supply that converts alternating current into direct current and vice versa. The goal is a flexible, efficient and open smart grid. The animation of the DC-INDUSTRIE project shows what the energy supply of tomorrow will look like, what grid management will have to do and what actually happens to the surplus electricity at the weekend.

Read more

Video: DC-INDUSTRIE for the first time at Hannover Fair 2019

The DC-INDUSTRIE project will be demonstrating for the first time at Hannover Messe 2019 how the energy supply of industrial plants via an intelligent, open DC grid can be designed to be energy- and cost-efficient in the future. (German only)

Read more

Quick check: Bidirectional power supply

A central AC/DC converter supplies all load areas of the factory with direct current. In this way, the overall energy efficiency of the system increases and the rectifiers in the units can be saved. The energy supply in the factory's DC network is not a one-way street: energy feedback into the AC network is also possible.

Read more

Quick check: Renewable energies

The DC grid enables easy integration of photovoltaic cells and other renewable energy sources. Conversion losses are reduced; synchronisation with a three-phase AC grid is not necessary.

Read more

Quick check: energy storage

Energy storage is easier to integrate into the factory DC grid with lower conversion losses. This ensures production stability in case of AC grid failure and better balancing of peak loads.

Read more

Quick check: grid management

The decentralised grid management is new. It ensures optimal energy exchange between the plants and brings more stability to the industrial power grid.

Read more

Quick check: Robot production | Industrial robots

The dynamic energy demand of robot production benefits from the distributed energy storage in the DC grid. In addition, the high proportion of recuperative energy provided by the industrial robots can be fed back into the system and used.

Read more

Energiewende trifft Industrie 4.0

„DC-INDUSTRIE“

Die deutsche Bundesregierung unterstützt Unternehmen und Forschungseinrichtungen bei der Entwicklung innovativer Technologien, die das Erreichen der internationalen Klimaziele vorantreiben. Insbesondere die Energieforschungsprogramme des Bundesministeriums für Wirtschaft und Energie unterstützen die Industrie – und Produktionslandschaft in Deutschland. Seit Oktober 2019 arbeiten 39 Partner - davon 33 Unternehmen und 6 Forschungseinrichtungen - an der nahtlosen, effizienten Integration von erneuerbaren Energien (z.B. Solarpanels auf Fabrikdächern) und Speichersystemen zum Ausgleich von Stromangebot und -nachfrage in Fabriken. Im Fokus von DC-INDUSTRIE2 steht die Gleichstromversorgung einer ganzen Produktionshalle, nachdem in DC-INDUSTRIE bereits seit 2016 die Gleichstromversorgung einer Produktionszelle realisiert wurde. Die DC-Infrastruktur wird in neun Modellanlagen und Transferzentren bei verschiedenen Partnern realisiert und ausgiebig getestet. Die Leistung dieser Anlagen reicht von einigen Kilowatt bis zu 2 Megawatt. 


Das Vorgängerprojekt DC-INDUSTRIE (2016 - 2019, mit 27 Partnern) legte den Grundstein für die Energieversorgung von Industrieanlagen über ein intelligentes, offenes Gleichstromnetz. Die Partner arbeiteten gemeinsam an der Umsetzung der Energiewende in der industriellen Produktion und erreichten in vier Modellanwendungen bei den Industriepartnern eine Reduzierung der Einspeiseleistung um bis zu 80 % und eine vollständige Rückgewinnung der Bremsenergie.

Zusammengefasst bietet DC-INDUSTRIE: 
1.    Ein offenes System
2.    Effiziente Integration von erneuerbarer Energie
3.    Geringerer Energieverbrauch
4.    Reduzierte Einspeiseleistung
5.    Erhöhte Anlagenverfügbarkeit


Mehr Informationen in unserem Positionspapier  und unserer Projektpräsentation

Video: DC-INDUSTRIE auf der Hannover Messe 2021

Gleichstrom nimmt in der zukünftigen industriellen Stromversorgung eine Schlüsselrolle ein. Mit Gleichstrom kann mehr Energieeffizienz und Energieflexibilität in der industriellen Produktion realisiert werden. Im Gleichstromforschungsprojekt DC-Industrie 2 und dem Vorläuferprojekt DC-Industrie arbeiten seit 2016 über 40 Partner aus Industrie und Forschung daran, die Energiewende in der industriellen Produktion umzusetzen. So entsteht das industrielle Energiesystem der Zukunft, ein gleichstrombasiertes Smart Grid für die Industrie.

Mehr erfahren

SPS Connect 2020 | Auf dem Weg zur Gleichstromfabrik

Im Vortrag wird das herstellerunabhängige industrielle Gleichstromnetz (DC-Netz) von DC-Industrie als Lösung für die anstehenden Herausforderungen der industriellen Energieversorgung vorgestellt. Ein Konsortium aus namhaften Herstellern der Elektrotechnik sowie Anwender aus den Branchen Automotive und Maschinenbau will mit DC-Industrie den Weg für die Gleichstromfabrik vorbereiten, in der sämtliche Energie über ein DC-Netz ausgetauscht wird. Damit kann die industrielle Produktion durch Gleichstrom branchenübergreifend energieeffizienter sowie flexibler gestaltet werden.

Mehr erfahren

Video: DC-INDUSTRIE-Panel auf den HM Digital Days 2020

Gleichstrom nimmt in der zukünftigen industriellen Stromversorgung eine Schlüsselrolle ein. Mit Gleichstrom, Direct Current (DC), kann mehr Energieeffizienz und Energieflexibilität in der industriellen Produktion realisiert werden. Im Gleichstromforschungsprojekt DC-Industrie 2 und dem Vorläuferprojekt DC-Industrie wird seit 2016 mit Unternehmen aus der Industrie und Forschungsinstituten an der Gleichstromversorgung einer Produktionszelle bzw. Produktionshalle geforscht.

Mehr erfahren

Video: DC-INDUSTRIE erstmalig auf der Hannover Messe 2019

Wie die Energieversorgung von industriellen Anlagen über ein intelligentes, offenes DC-Netz künftig energie- und kosteneffizient gestaltet werden kann, das zeigt das Forschungsprojekt DC-INDUSTRIE erstmalig auf der Hannover Messe 2019.

Mehr erfahren

Video: Energiewende trifft Industrie 4.0

Der ZVEI entwickelt mit seinen Partnern im Projekt DC-INDUSTRIE Netzmanagement-Möglichkeiten für die Zukunft. Das Motto: Energiewende meets Industrie 4.0. Gleichstrom spielt in der zukünftigen industriellen Stromversorgung eine Schlüsselrolle. Ebenso wie erneuerbare Energien, Energiespeicher und eine Zweiwege-Stromversorgung, die Wechsel- in Gleichstrom und umgekehrt wandelt. Ziel ist ein flexibles, effizientes und offenes Smart Grid. Die Animation des Projekts DC-INDUSTRIE zeigt, wie die Energieversorgung von morgen aussieht, was das Netzmanagement leisten muss und was eigentlich am Wochenende mit dem überschüssigem Strom passiert.

Mehr erfahren

Im Schnellcheck: Bidirektionale Stromversorgung

Ein zentraler AC/DC-Wandler versorgt alle Lastbereiche der Fabrik mit Gleichstrom. Auf diese Weise erhöht sich die Gesamtenergieeffizienz des Systems und die Gleichrichter in den Geräten können eingespart werden. Die Energieversorgung im DC-Netz der Fabrik ist keine Einbahnstraße: Auch die Energierückführung in das Wechselstromnetz ist möglich.

Mehr erfahren

Im Schnellcheck: Erneuerbare Energien

Das DC-Netz ermöglicht eine einfache Einbindung von Photovoltaikzellen und anderen erneuerbarer Energieträgern. Umwandlungsverluste werden reduziert; die Synchronisation mit einem dreiphasigen Wechselstromnetz ist nicht nötig.

Mehr erfahren

Im Schnellcheck: Energiespeicher

Energiespeicher sind einfacher und mit geringeren Umwandlungsverlusten ins DC-Netz der Fabrik integrierbar. Dies gewährleistet Produktionsstabilität bei AC-Netzversagen und einen besseren Ausgleich von Spitzenlasten.

Mehr erfahren

Im Schnellcheck: Netzmanagement

Neu ist das dezentrale Netzmanagement. Es sorgt für optimalen Energieaustausch zwischen den Anlagen und bringt mehr Stabilität ins industrielle Stromnetz.

Mehr erfahren

Im Schnellcheck: Roboterfertigung | Industrieroboter

Der dynamische Energiebedarf der Roboterfertigung profitiert von den verteilten Energiespeichern im Gleichstromnetz. Darüber hinaus kann der hohe Anteil an rekuperativer Energie, der durch die Industrieroboter bereitgestellt wird, ins System zurückgespeist und genutzt werden.

Mehr erfahren